More about me

My name's Geoff Crowther. I took early retirement a while back so, basically, I spend my whole life doing my best to enjoy myself.

I live in the English Peak District with my wife, Chrissie who also has a blog here and our two dogs; Pebbles the boxer and Islay the chocolate labrador. We both love dogs and these two are the latest in a long line of canine companions.

I have a daughter, Abi who lives with her husband not too far away. As I write this, she is expecting our first grandchild.



Before retiring I was a primary school teacher but prior to that I worked for many years in industry. Also before retiring I had been a member of a mountain rescue team for 27 years, the last 7 of which I was Team Leader.

Chrissie and I have had a motorhome for several years now and we've travelled across Western Europe and into Scandinavia as well as around the UK. Our dogs love it!

I'm a hillwalker, backpacker and touring cyclist. I began backpacking in 1980 and I've practiced this pursuit, often along with Chrissie, all over the UK, in America and Canada and, more recently, above the Arctic Circle in Sweden. I regularly wild camp alone but am frequently accompanied by Islay, my lab.

Cascade Mountains, USA:

Alaska:

Above the Arctic Circle, Sweden:

Highlands of Scotland:

Islay on Kinder Scout:

I only began taking cycling seriously after retiring and, in 2015, I cycled from Lands End to
John o'Groats, independently, camping along the way. I've undertaken many shorter cycle camping tours in the UK.

LEJOG, 2015:

If you'd like to contact me, I can be found here on Twitter, or you can leave a comment after a post on this blog. Don't worry if your comment disappears once written; it comes to me via email for moderation. I'll get back to you as soon as I am able.

Thanks for visiting.






No comments:

Post a comment

Comments are always welcome but please be patient. Thanks to recent rudeness on here I have reinstated moderation. Hence, your comments will appear after I've approved them. Thanks for taking the trouble to visit my blog.